Studio 3880

Welcome to the Writing and Digital Media Studio

Is there life beyond the digital???

During my recent travels to conferences, I counted on having internet and cell phone access.

Imagine my dismay when I discovered that neither St. Thomas or Puerto Rico has Verizon service, and that internet would not be consistently available! What? Uh, are they in the dark ages? OMG!

My first reactions (not in the order listed) were:

 

In St. Thomas:

Arrrrgh! Yikes! What will I do? How will I communicate with my classes! Oh no, I’ve been sucked up by aliens to a galaxy far, far away!

Initially, I found my fingers groping for the cell phone while I stared helplessly and clicked furiously -hoping to somehow beat a signal into the phone. Then, I tried calling home and discovered that my phone was roaming at $2/minute. Well, that won’t work. Uh, how will I play Words with Friends? How will I update Facebook?

Next, I logged on the hotel internet and picked up essential emails between conference sessions, checked Facebook, and made my play on Words with Friends. Ok, so at least I am somewhat in communication. Yep, the students emailed me; no, they didn’t all get their work posted; answered three desperate pleas for help; told them all to read the instructions.

I can’t work, so maybe I’ll go to the beach after the sessions.
In Puerto Rico:

Oh no, not again. No phone service. Yikes, my friend’s apartment has NO Internet! Ok, I’ve survived so far, let me check at the conference. Good, the conference has free wifi.

No point in calling home at $2/minute roaming. Emailed everyone that I would be offline most of the time. Checked Facebook during the conference; answered student emails; oops, better pay attention -this is a small group and they are noticing that I am not listening. (Am I becoming one of my students?). Words with Friends will wait.

I can’t work, so maybe I’ll go hang out with my friends after the sessions. Hmmmm, good food in Old San Juan – ceviche, pasta de guayaba. Did I tell you that I bought some brazo gitano for the Studio 3880 class.  Went to Bebo’s restaurant for a yummy mofongo con pollo y salsa creole.

Moral of the story:  Life is complicated :)))))

2 comments on “Is there life beyond the digital???

  1. epalacio2012
    November 19, 2012

    It can be so difficult to be away from technology, especially when your work requires you to be in constant communication with everyone. $2/minute for roaming? I totally get why phone calls can wait. Hopefully everything went well. At the end of the day, plans have to change in order to make things work.
    By the way, “Mofongo con pollo y salsa creole” sounds amazing! so does the “brazo gitano”.

    Welcome Back!

  2. Danielle
    November 19, 2012

    I’m so awful when I can’t get internet access. I didn’t have it at Dragon*Con for 5 days and I felt like I was missing a part of my body! We have really become a digital civilization.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on November 19, 2012 by in Fun Stuff.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 36 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 1,587 hits
